Posts

Showing posts from December, 2022

No man's land

Image
  It's that weird week between Christmas and New year. For many a year I worked this week, often on Boxing Day itself. And sometimes I have the week off like this year. Doesn't matter what I do it feels very strange. All the hype of Christmas is done, and yet it's not quite over. The decorations are still up (and I have been known to take them down before now - always before twelfth night). I always feel like I'm in limbo, the week has no definition and it's only after Hogmanay that things become normal. I find it all quite unnerving but I guess that's just me. This time next week I'll know if I'm on a diet. I do have options - - loose the 8lbs or so I've put on recently. - loose a stone or so for clothes to feel better. - loose a couple of stone to fit into that summer dress again. - loose about 4 stone and hopefully stop snoring and be healthier.  - loose the whole shebang, about 7 stones and be at my dream weight. - don't diet and hope the ext...

Humble

Image
As I've often said, I'm rubbish at giving Christmas cards! I just am. However, I saw Shirley Ballas on TV the other day as she described giving cards at Christmas as a thank you to those people being in her life all year. This made me think, and feel bad. If you've given me a card this year thank you kindly. I would just like to use this format to thank everyone who is reading this - thank you for being in my life this year, if only by reading my thoughts every week. I hope everyone has a lovely day on Sunday regardless of your personal circumstances. Merry Christmas!  I had a wobble this week, all because of Lisa Riley. Whoooo? Lisa Riley is Mandy Dingle in Emmerdale. I have no idea how I know this as I don't watch Emmerdale but there you go. Anyway, Lisa Riley was always rather chubby and then she lost weight. She did all the rounds on TV - Loose Women, This Morning etc because of this joyous dieting. But I caught a glimpse of her this week (in some singing TV show be...

It's finally happened.

Image
  I've been chucked out of my bed! And not just my bed but my whole bedroom. My horrible husband has reach his tolerance of my snoring, and he was getting very bad tempered from lack of sleep. I've offered to move out before and he's always declined my kindness... But this time he said yes!! He did help me put the bedding on the single bed (in the 'office', aka Isaac's old bedroom). Libby shared with me and we slept ok. She usually has it all to herself but I think she was happy to give me half. And she never complained about my snoring!  Last Thursday night I broke a tooth. I was only eating a coconut chocolate out of the Quality Street tub! I knew straight away as it just didn't feel right. The dentist fitted me in the next morning and pulled it out! 😭. I'm bereft. That's my fourth tooth out in 3 years. And all four because they broke. I shall have none left by the time I'm 60!  Then on Saturday I was going to get Ellie from Aberdeen. She'...

Contrary

Image
  We're still having difficulty feeding Libby, she wants to eat but often turns her nose up at what we offer. We're having to be creative with her meals - sometimes she'll eat and sometimes she won't, sometimes she'll eat a little and then other times she'll wolf it down. And sometimes she'll throw it all back up. She is a little thin but don't worry too much she's got energy and she's happy and you still wouldn't think she was ill! I am hopefully she will survive until Christmas. Libby loves Christmas. And I love Libby. I've posted a photo of her bottom if anyone is interested in seeing her tumour. The photo doesn't really show how big it is but it gives you an idea. Don't look if you don't want to though. Libby loves my new seat as much as I do. On my day off we'll snuggle on it together and watch Christmas movies. Yesterday we made festive biscuits - some for humans and some for doggies. Then we cuddle on the chair agai...

Controversial

Image
  I came out of Asda yesterday and this police vehicle was parked next to me, so close that I couldn't get in. I saw him coming out of the store but I took the picture anyway (I figured it wasn't illegal). He asked me if I wanted a picture from the back too. I ignored this and just told him I'd wait. He then said that had I parked straight I'd have been ok. I wanted to swear but I figured that would be illegal so I simply stated that I was within the white lines. The reason I'm so annoyed is that I'd parked next to a car (carpark was busy) - I was straight and in the middle of the lines however I felt I was too close to the next car and the drivers door. So out of simple courtesy I moved over nearer to the line. Yes I was a little wonky but the main reason was that I wasn't central. I wouldn't, if I can help it, deliberately park so close to another driver that they struggle to get in the car, or bash their door into mine. I just felt the copper was rude...